Go Back   Mosets Community > Archives > Mosets Hot Property 1.0 > Discussions, Troubleshooting and Problems

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2008, 11:24 AM
aaronpie aaronpie is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Default Installation Problem

I just installed Joomla 1.5.6 on my site. I proceeded to install Hot Property 1.0b3 and it said that the component installed successfully. When I go to the component menu and select Hot Property, I get a blank page. It looks like all the folders are there and the database is correct. I am not sure what is going on? Thanks for any help.
  #2  
Old 09-06-2008, 05:56 PM
dknight dknight is offline
Mosets Team - Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26,091
Default

Hello Aaron,

Please make sure you have FTP disabled in Joomla's Global Configuration and then the installation again.
__________________
Lee
Lead Developer
Mosets.com - Quality Joomla! Solutions
  #3  
Old 09-08-2008, 12:46 AM
aaronpie aaronpie is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
Default

I disabled FTP but when I try to install Hot Property I get the error:

Warning! Failed to move file.
  #4  
Old 09-08-2008, 12:39 PM
dknight dknight is offline
Mosets Team - Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26,091
Default

Please open a new thread in Mosets Priority Forum with access to your site. I'll get this sorted out for you.
__________________
Lee
Lead Developer
Mosets.com - Quality Joomla! Solutions
  #5  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:28 PM
mposthuma mposthuma is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default

has there been a sollution for this problem. I'm having the same problem.
  #6  
Old 10-17-2008, 02:51 PM
dknight dknight is offline
Mosets Team - Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26,091
Default

Please make sure the following directories are writable prior to the installation:
  • /tmp
  • /components
  • /administrator/components
  • /language/en-GB/
  • /administrator/language/en-GB/
__________________
Lee
Lead Developer
Mosets.com - Quality Joomla! Solutions
  #7  
Old 10-21-2008, 07:54 PM
clivemuir clivemuir is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Default File permissions CHMOD settings before and after installation

Hi,

From the upgrade instructions there are a few files to chmod before installation.... What is not clear is if these files have to stay att 777 or if some of them can be changed to non writeable after install....

Especially the Joomla directories should not be left at 777 and what about the HP config file?

Could you please clarify what the permissions should be set to after an installation is completed....

Does the Joomla FTP layer have to stay off all the time or can it be turned back on after successful installation of HP

Thanks

Clive


Quote:
Preparation
Make sure the following directories are chmoded to 777 before starting the installation:

* /components
* /modules
* /media
* /language/en-GB
* /administrator/components
* /administrator/language/en-GB
* /plugins/search
* /tmp

It has been reported that having the FTP functionality enabled in Joomla prevents Hot Property's installation. If you're having trouble with this, disable the FTP functionality in Joomla's Global Configuration.


File and Directory permission
Make sure the configuration file and image directories listed below are chmoded to 777. Failure to do so might prevent you from uploading new images or change the configuration:

* Configuration File -
/administrator/components/com_hotproperty/config.hotproperty.php
* Image Directories -
/media/com_hotproperty/img/agent/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/company/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/ori/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/std/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/thb/
  #8  
Old 10-21-2008, 09:08 PM
dknight dknight is offline
Mosets Team - Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26,091
Default

Here are places that need to remain chmoded to 777 after the installation:

/media/com_hotproperty/img/agent/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/company/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/ori/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/std/
/media/com_hotproperty/img/thb/

The config file on the other hand is optional. You may want to keep it 777 while you're setting up Hot Property until you're certain you won't be changing the configuration anymore.

FTP layer can be enabled or disabled after the installation. HP does not use that during normal operation.
__________________
Lee
Lead Developer
Mosets.com - Quality Joomla! Solutions
  #9  
Old 10-21-2008, 10:25 PM
clivemuir clivemuir is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks Lee

Could you also clarify what the procedure is for an upgrade when a new version comes out? Do all the Joomla directories have to be changed back to 777 and the ftp layer turned off again before making an upgrade?

Clive
  #10  
Old 10-22-2008, 02:52 PM
dknight dknight is offline
Mosets Team - Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26,091
Default

Hi Clive,

It's not necessary to do that during upgrade. All you need to do is overwrite all files from HP's package through your FTP server.
__________________
Lee
Lead Developer
Mosets.com - Quality Joomla! Solutions
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Copyright © 2005-2010 Mosets Consulting

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.