Go Back   Mosets Community > Mosets Tree 3.x > Discussions, Troubleshooting & Problems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:01 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default Front end listing unusable

Hi
There seem to be some important issues with the latest upgrade to version 3 of Mosets Tree. I was running 2.2.6 without any problems, and have considered this a really reliable extension, which I have used for a few years. Current problems I have encountered with 3 so far:
New listings form in front end has numerous images already present in the form (15 and counting), so instead of a blank form the user is presented with a load of images that are nothing to do with their listing.
Approval of modified listings in the back end is stripping content out of the listings, namely images and links. The text is unaffected. The images stripped out seem to be ending up in the new listing form on the front end.
The Picture Profile plugin causes an error at registration, if an image is not uploaded by a new user. You can get round this by making the plugin for registered users, so that it only shows up on the edit profile form, and not on the initial registration page, but its a bug nonetheless, as it says its "optional" on the registration page, when its not.
The first two issues, which are clearly related, are rendering my site unusable currently, at least for new listings on the front end. They may be simple to fix, but I have not received any response so far in the private support forum, so I'm posting here, and crossing a few fingers. There are lots of great new features in this upgrade, but the basics don't seem to be working properly at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2013, 06:49 PM
Lenfitz Lenfitz is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 298
Default

Not sure if this will help but take a look at the below options.

"Approval of modified listings in the back end is stripping content out of the listings, namely images and links. The text is unaffected. The images stripped out seem to be ending up in the new listing form on the front end."

Goto the mosets admin backend and click on custom fields. Then click on the description field.

There are options to strip or not strip html

Strip all HTML tags in Summary view
Strip all HTML tags in Details view
Strip all HTML tags before storing to database

Set to no and see if this helps.

Good luck.
__________________
Member of the Australian and USA Joomla! Translation Team
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2013, 08:03 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Hi
Thanks for the suggestion. In fact I don't have a WYSYWIG editor enabled for front end listings, which I believe is the main reason for having these options set to yes, as protection against malicious code being inserted into text descriptions. However, its not this particular field that is affected anyway, and the text seems to survive the approval process. Thanks for the thought though, much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:47 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

was there ever a solution to this as I am having the exact same problem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:52 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Hi
Yes, the upgrade to 3.04 has fixed the problems with the images and the fields being stripped out, and appearing when they shouldn't.
There is a fix for the problem with the Picture profile plugin as well, although I havent tried it yet, as I've just altered the plugin to Registered so that it only appears on the edit page of users profiles. I'll dig out the fix which Lee supplied if you like as well?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:55 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Ahh - the problem started for me when I upgraded to 3.04!

Just to clarify - the issue I'm having is that if a user edits a listing and hits submit the images are removed in the back end when I go to approve the listing + a few other fields data also removed even if the user didn't change them.

Last edited by antonyjmedley; 02-14-2013 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:57 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Oh, that's strange. Have you got problems with images and fields, or one of them only?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:59 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

yes images and other fields - the main description is unaffected
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:03 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Well, try the private support section of this forum. Lee always deals with issues, even if it takes a few days. There may be something obvious going on, as he definitely addressed the issue with the images in 3.04, and that has solved the problem with fields as well, as far as I can see.
By the way, do you have Community Builder running on the site in question?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:07 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

I've posted a message in the private forum - I don't have community builder installed on the site.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:14 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Okay, I just asked as I do, and wondered if that was causing conflicts.
Good luck, and I'd be interested to hear how it turns out.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:16 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

So will I - as it is now totally unusable!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-2013, 06:38 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

I seem to have this issue back on my site now as well, exactly as before.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2013, 06:44 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

I've had no reply on this in the private forum - I've had to turn off the facility for users to edit their listings which is a real pain. I tested on a copy of my site and turned off all other extensions, reverted to a standard joomla template, turned off SEF url's and I still had the issue - really stuck now.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2013, 06:55 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

That is disappointing to hear. I feel sure Lee will be trying to fix this issue, but its a key feature of Mosets, and I can't believe we are the only 2 users to experience this. I won't be able to progress with my site unless this is fixed properly, as creating and editing listings by users is the whole point, and adding links via custom fields is one of the key features.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-2013, 06:59 PM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

I know - it is basically unusable but I am stuck with it. My site is photography related and if someone edits a listing the wrong images appear with the wrong listing and previously uploaded images disappear. Just a disaster! Makes it a nightmare to manage. I was thinking it might be some kind of server caching issue
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-2013, 07:45 PM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Well, its obvious this has to be fixed asap. I'll let you know as soon as I get a response/update on this, although i expect we will both hear at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-19-2013, 11:37 PM
Lenfitz Lenfitz is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 298
Default

My personal opinion for what it's worth and i've been running mosets since 2008.

If you open up the option for users to freely edit their listing your opening your website up to security issues. You cannot guarantee (well you can if you have password strength code but more than likely not) the user and password strength the users choose. If they are weak then you will find your users login and password will be hacked and their listings modified with the spammers listing instead.

This is why I only allow the admin to edit listings. If members want their listings edited they can fill out an edit form and I manually edit it for them.

It is not a permanent solution to your issues but a temp one that will get you by until Lee can sort it for you.

I know you feel a bit frustrated by some things but be patient. It will get sorted. Lee is a one man support team and does a top job supporting issues for years. Usually when the private support isn't being attended Lee is head down bum up busy writing the next patch which in most cases addresses a lot of peoples issues.

FYI. The Joomla Extensions Directory is in fact a mosets tree. You don't get a higher recommendation than joomla itself trusting mosets tree to manage the JED

Have patience. Lee is a one man dynamo machine. He will sort it for you
__________________
Member of the Australian and USA Joomla! Translation Team

Last edited by Lenfitz; 02-19-2013 at 11:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-20-2013, 12:08 AM
antonyjmedley antonyjmedley is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Default

That's a great solution to part of the problem - the part that really needs fixing is the fact that the Add an entry forms are pre-poputaed with random images from existing listings. The new user sees these images when they are submitting a listing and deletes them. They then disappear from the original listing = mess
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-20-2013, 12:46 AM
simonrodway simonrodway is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenfitz View Post
My personal opinion for what it's worth and i've been running mosets since 2008.

If you open up the option for users to freely edit their listing your opening your website up to security issues. You cannot guarantee (well you can if you have password strength code but more than likely not) the user and password strength the users choose. If they are weak then you will find your users login and password will be hacked and their listings modified with the spammers listing instead.

This is why I only allow the admin to edit listings. If members want their listings edited they can fill out an edit form and I manually edit it for them.

It is not a permanent solution to your issues but a temp one that will get you by until Lee can sort it for you.

I know you feel a bit frustrated by some things but be patient. It will get sorted. Lee is a one man support team and does a top job supporting issues for years. Usually when the private support isn't being attended Lee is head down bum up busy writing the next patch which in most cases addresses a lot of peoples issues.

FYI. The Joomla Extensions Directory is in fact a mosets tree. You don't get a higher recommendation than joomla itself trusting mosets tree to manage the JED

Have patience. Lee is a one man dynamo machine. He will sort it for you
I totally agree, and I said the same thing myself a week or two ago to someone who was moaning on the forum about support. Mosets Tree is a fantastic extension, and the support Lee provides is top notch, no argument about that. I'm sure this will be resolved, and thanks for your advice and comments about user editing and hacking. You mentioned an edit form. How does that work exactly and how can we add that function to MT?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-20-2013, 04:00 AM
Lenfitz Lenfitz is offline
Mosets'd
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 298
Default

simonrodway,

The edit form is not actually part of MT.

It is a created form on a url page that I send customers to if they want to edit their listing.

The form is a mirror of the add listing page where they fill in the info and it emails me a copy of the form. I then update their listing with the new info.

Tedious... yes I know but much safer than opening up the website for customers to edit their listing given their password skills. But each to his own.

You can get forms plugins etc from the Joomla Extensions Directory. Tricky to set up and takes a bit of skill but well worth it in the end.

antonyjmedley,

What you have is a very weird issue. I have plenty of images in my directory and do not have the same issue. Sounds like you may have database issues of some sort or modified image location?. I think your best solution is to wait for Lee to take a look at it. He will nut it out as soon as he gets time.
__________________
Member of the Australian and USA Joomla! Translation Team
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 07:53 PM.

Copyright © 2005-2010 Mosets Consulting

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.